Our Communities

The Windsor-Essex Region is a peninsula that is bound on three sides by water: Lake St. Clair to the north, Detroit River to the west, and Lake Erie to the south, which produces a temperate climate with four distinct seasons. The mean annual temperature is 9.9 °C (50 °F), among the warmest in Canada.


Windsor-Essex is made up of the nine municipalities, encompassing a total area of 1,851 square kilometres. The Nine municipalities include the city of WindsorLasalleTecumsehLakeshoreAmherstburgKingsvilleEssexLeamington and Pelee Island.